Catch Up Post: The Guide to, YOU…

*Catch up post from June 2016…this is getting shameful*

“Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire…” –Unknown

Version 2

I don’t know about the rest of you {now} 30 something’s, but entering a new decade creates this profound need for reflection.  Looking back into the pool of my roaring 20s lately has me reeling with lessons learned, pieces of my heart and myself lost and forgotten or lost and found and forgiven.  It’s a time to be fearless, grab life by the balls and figure out who the hell you are and who you want to be in this amazing adventure we call L I F E.

This past decade has been one of the most challenging and crazy, beautiful times I can imagine.  Your twenties seem to be where a lot of the hard lessons are taught and hopefully learned; we make a million and one mistakes and try to fight hard to become better and not bitter throughout the hurdles that get in our way.  There are so many metaphors and memes and quotes that apply to and can inspire us through this time of growth, but the most important thing we can take from it all is our sense of self.

I am a single,  30 year old who has been happy in relationships, been sad in relationships, been happily single and lonely single, been in good jobs, bad jobs, awesome places and dodgy places.  I’ve moved from a small hometown to a small college town to a big city to a foreign country.  I’ve lived in more apartments and houses than I can probably count now, I’ve acquired furniture to fill those apartments and houses and sold all my furniture to fill none.  I’ve attended a lot of parties; college ones, birthday ones, engagement ones.  Then comes the day when parties turn into showers; bridal kinds, baby kinds, etc.

What I’ve learned in attending all these parties and showers, planning my days and nights, outfits and paychecks around the amazing humans I have in my life, is that there comes a day, when you just have to say no.  Sometimes, it just gets to be too much.  You can’t do it all, even when you’re out here, trying to be Super Wonder Cat Woman.  Recently, I’ve had some hard lessons thrown at me…my guess, 29 just wasn’t quite ready to let me off easy as time brought me closer to my birthday and the big  3-0.  Remember that sense of self I listed above as being the glue that sticks all those hard times together?  Yeah.  I really should take my own advice more often.  Part of our sense of self is our intuition; that gut instinct that tells us whether something is feeling right or wrong.  We’re told from childhood that we should trust it, that we should listen to that little voice in our heads that tells us when something doesn’t feel good.  The reality is, we don’t always follow it and that usually gets us into trouble.

Speaking from experience, I now know how crucial it is in my personal development, my true sense of self, to follow my gut instincts and tap into my deepest desires; as my grandpa says, “get that fire in the belly back in your life!”  I’ve learned how important the power of saying no is as I get older and grow deeper into who I am meant to be.  Although difficult and at times heartbreaking, it’s been a definitive highlight in my process of getting older.  It’s tough to lose lovers, but one of the hardest relationships to lose is with friends who you’ve had for a long time and who you thought would be in your life forever.  As I continue my journey, I’m discovering just how life altering it is when you weigh quality over quantity.

So as I continue to learn and grow, rise and fall, I will exhibit my power of no, to parties and showers, to outings, to bad energy and I will continue following my intuition, to set my soul on fire.

For you, I wish you will find the same.

xx,

Me

4 thoughts on “Catch Up Post: The Guide to, YOU…

Leave a Reply

